About the Journal

The Journal of Spinoza Studies provides a forum for discussion of all aspects of Spinoza’s thought and works. JSS is committed to publishing open-access, cutting-edge scholarship on a variety of topics and to bringing together voices from different intellectual and philosophical traditions. 

JSS publishes two issues per year, sometimes including guest-edited collections of invited essays. All work published by JSS is peer-reviewed (double-anonymously).

Language of publication: English, but we welcome submissions in English, Dutch, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. See our Language Policy.

JSS is entirely free for readers and authors. The journal is currently supported by contributions from the founding Spinoza societies listed below and donations from members of the journal's scientific committee. If you would like to help support the journal, please consult the page on financial support.

The Scientific Committee is composed of delegates of five founding societies and by individual scholars who, in some cases, also represent other scholarly communities. The Scientific Committee is responsible for all decisions concerning the journal's content and policies. 

Founding Spinoza Societies and their delegates:
Societas Spinozana (IT):
Paola Rumore (Università di Torino)
Francesco Toto (Università di Roma 3)
Stefano Visentin (Università di Urbino)

Spinoza-Gesellschaft (DE):
Timon Boehm (Spinoza-Gesellschaft)
Martin Saar (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main)
Sarah Tropper (Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz)

Vereniging van het Spinozahuis (NL):
Bouke Posthuma (Vereniging Het Spinozahuis)

Faculty of Educational Sciences and Humanities of Cuenca together with the Spanish Seminario Spinoza (SP):
María Luisa de la Camara (Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha)
Daniel Pino (Universidad de Sevilla)
Aurelio Sainz Pezonaga (Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha)

The Spinoza Centre, Jerusalem (IL):
Dror Yinon (Bar-Ilan University)
Noa Na'aman-Zauderer (Tel Aviv University)

Other members of the Scientific Committee:
Aurelia Armstrong (University of Queensland)
Zsolt Bagi (University of Pécs)
Andre Santos Campos (Universidade NOVA de Lisboa)
Clare Carlisle (King’s College London & London Spinoza Circle)
Filippo Del Lucchese (Alma mater studiorum - Università di Bologna)
Alexander Douglas (University of St Andrews)
Sandra Field (Monash University)
Susan James (Birkbeck College London & London Spinoza Circle)
Chantal Jaquet (Université Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne & Association des Amis de Spinoza)
Mogens Lærke (Maison Française d’Oxford, CRNS, École Normale Supérieure de Lyon)
Beth Lord (University of Aberdeen)
Steven Nadler (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Ohad Nachtomy (Technion, Israel Institute of Technology)
Luís César Oliva (Universidade de São Paulo)
Kristin Primus (University of California, Berkeley & North American Spinoza Society)
Michael Rosenthal (University of Toronto)
Andrea Sangiacomo (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen)
Pascal Sévérac (Université de Paris-Est Créteil & Association des Amis de Spinoza)
Hasana Sharp (McGill University)
María Jimena Solé (Universidad de Buenos Aires)
Olivér István Tóth (University of Graz)
Valtteri Viljanen (University of Turku)